You might want to delete Hotmail account for various reason. But there are some very important points which you should consider deactivating Hotmail account permanently. Hotmail is not like Facebook, which you can deactivate and reactivate any time you wish.
Things to Consider Before Deleting Hotmail Account
- Once you delete Hotmail account, you will lose all your prior emails, contacts, calendar. So make sure you have retrieved all the information you need before canceling your Hotmail account.
- If you delete Hotmail account you will lose all your files from OneDrive also, and you cannot get them back after a certain time so consider it.
- You will lose all your Microsoft Office login information; You will lose your Skype and Xbox also after you delete Hotmail account.
- If there is any money or credit in your Hotmail account, you will lose it so use all your money before you delete your Hotmail account.
- Let people know where to contact you. After you delete Hotmail account you can set an automatic reply to users who mail you for 60 days, so make an automatic reply and tell them where you can be contacted.
- Your product key of devices you purchased, applications you’ve purchased will be removed after you delete Hotmail account. You will also lose all the information which are stored in Microsoft through your Hotmail email.
Steps to Delete Hotmail Account
After reading and understanding all points above, if you still want to delete Hotmail account then follow the steps below.
- Go to Microsoft account setting page and sign in with the account you want to delete. Alternatively, you can sign in Hotmail > Click on profile picture > View account.
- Select the ‘Security’ option in the header.
- Under Security heading, you’ll see some basic settings, click on ‘More security options’ on the bottom of the page.
- You’ll reach into ‘Additional security options’. Scroll to the bottom and click the option ‘Close my account’.
- Read all points carefully and click next. In next page mark your account for closure. Check all the boxes and mention the reason for deactivation.
- After finishing these steps you’ll receive a notification saying, your Hotmail account will be permanently deleted after 60 days. If you wish you can reactivate your account anytime within 60 days.
Your Hotmail delete process is completed. If you change your mind, then you can re-open it within 60 days. After two months you will lose your account permanently and there is not any way to recover.